Wednesday, March 9, 2011


by Scott Westerfeld

The Secret Hour
Start Date: 6 February 2011
End Date: 8 February 2011
297 pages (Paperback)
Published 1 March 2005
This is the first book in the Midnighters trilogy. I really liked all three books - the were exciting, fast-paced, intricate, and could appeal to a wide range of readers (which I appreciated). The premise for this series is that people born on the stroke of midnight have a power they don't know about. Only in the town of Bixby, Oklahoma, is that power realized. On the stroke of midnight every night, the world freezes and the Secret Hour begins. Only Midnighters experience it. It is both wonderful and sinister, but each Midnighter has powers to keep the darklings of the secret hour in check. There are five Midnighters in the series: Jessica, Dess, Rex, Melissa, and Jonathan, and each has powers that complement each other. The character development in the entire series is fantastic, and the story itself is incredible. It's a bit creepy, but that's part of what makes it great. The entire series is highly recommended.

Touching Darkness
Start Date: 16 February 2011
End Date: 17 February 2011
439 pages (Paperback)
Published 1 March 2006
In this book, the darklings are recruiting human allies and trying to capture one of the Midnighters. Touching Darkness continues the plot of The Secret Hour, but adds more twists and turns of plot to make it even more interesting and adds to the reader's understanding of how the Secret Hour works. The greater understanding of the world where the story takes place gives the story a depth that makes it great to read.

Blue Noon
Start Date: 18 February 2011
End Date: 17 February 2011
378 pages (Paperback)
Published 1 February 2007
The end of Touching Darkness and the entire book of Blue Noon is significantly creepier than The Secret Hour. However, it is just awesome. The secret hour AKA blue time is spreading past midnight and appears in the middle of the day. The group of midnighters is fracturing, and the end of the world may soon be coming. The finale to the series gets even deeper into the roots of the secret hour and cleverly combines multiple points of view, discoveries of secrets meant to be hidden, and well-placed action throughout. The end of Blue Noon is.... not going to be given away by me, but is surprising. This series is very highly recommended.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...