Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday: Rump: The True Story of Rumplestiltskin

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week, I am eagerly waiting on...
Rump: The True Story of Rumplestiltlskin, by Liesl Shurtliff

Summary (from Goodreads):
In a magical kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke.

Rump has never known his full name—his mother died before she could tell him. So all his life he's been teased and bullied for his half-a-name. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. For Rump discovers he can spin straw into gold. Magical gold.

His best friend Red Riding Hood warns him that magic is dangerous—and she's right! That gold is worth its weight in trouble. And with each thread he spins, Rump weaves himself deeper into a curse.

There's only one way to break the spell: Rump must go on a quest to find his true name, along the way defending himself against pixies, trolls, poison apples, and one beautiful but vile-mannered queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—Rump just might triumph in the end.

An inventive fairytale retelling, perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine or Shannon Hale.

Rump: The True Story of Rumplestiltskin will be released April 9th 2013 by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers.

What are you guys waiting for this week? Leave thoughts and links in the comments!

1 comment:

Ann @ Blogging Profits Unleashed said...

My daughter loves this book so much, and I loved it too! Another fascinating fairy-tale retelling.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...